IT Processes

The following IT process groups are identified:

  • Service Support Processes: these processes focus on the user of the ICT services and are primarily concerned with ensuring that the users have access to the appropriate services to support the business functions.

Users are the entry point to the process model and they get involved in service support by:

  • Having difficulties, queries about malfunctions
  • Asking for changes or new features, or even new projects or programs (refer to PPP: Project - Program - Portfolio)

These processes are Demand Management (unplanned and planned demands, covering calls, incidents, problems, product- and portfolio management), Application Management (SDLC), Configuration Management, Release Management, Quality Management, Application Governance and ICT Infrastructure Management.

  • Service Delivery Processes: these processes concentrate on the proactive services the ICT must deliver to provide adequate support to business users. They focus on the business as the customer of the ICT services.

Contains the following processes:

  • Service Level Management
  • Capacity Management
  • ICT Service Continuity Management
  • Availability Management
  • ICT Security Management
  • Knowledge Management
  • ICT Financial Management
  • Procurement (aka supplier management)